Uncategorized

The Journey To Becoming an Comic Artist

I’m sitting at my desk with a fiery drive to become an aspiring artist. Over the years I’ve have forgotten how much I enjoy holding a pencil to paper and creating worlds of my own. I would cry about it hysterically in the dark of my room and only hope that things would get better in my life so I could carry on and become an artist that draws comics.

It all started from when I was a six-year-old child. I would sit down and draw with my favorite uncle in church during sacraments. I remember he would draw figures on paper that then moved towards each other in action, which I then later found out was called a flip book. He inspired me to draw from that moment because he had the tenacity to do things even if everyone else told him “stop, it.” He passed away 13 years ago, and still I remember him, his stick figure drawings, and his actions, even though people would get annoyed with him and tell him to “stop, it” He never stopped.

Never stop doing what you love in life. Life is too short to stop and let things bother you, and that is why my uncle’s actions speak louder than words. It may be that he never told me to ‘achieve greater things in life’ but by him never letting anyone let him down by continuing to annoy people inspired me to never give up my dreams.

One thing I think now on my journey to becoming a better artist is this; I may not be very talented at the moment but hear me out. I lost my mother on April 11th 2016, she died suddenly in her sleep. She was the most important person in my life, because she truly believed I could do anything, as long as I sought it out with true passion and perseverance.

At 24 years old, I’ve been through a lot and I understand that my drawings are not what people might be looking for, but hear me out, just this one last time. I don’t plan on giving up anytime, I plan on dying here on aliacomics.wordpress.com by giving up on old habits and creating my life to succeed around being a webcomic artist. Yeah, it might take years…but I am more than willing to do the work.

I miss you Mom & Uncle Mike. I do this because you’ve taught me one of the most important things that I could have just taken for granted if you weren’t in my life and that is “Never give up your true passion in life even if it hurts, because this is it. Life is too short to let it pass by and not do the thing you love the most.” I could never thank you enough for your actions that turned into words for me, and as Abraham Lincoln said “Action’s speak louder than words.”

 

IMG_20161228_0001_NEW.jpgimg_20161026_0004

img_20170217_0001_newimg_20170216_0001_new

Leave a Reply

